WHY I’M LOOKING FORWARD TO THE GREAT GATSBY

Who would have thought it? Against all odds, and most definitely against my better judgement, I find myself looking forward to Baz Luhrmann’s $104.5 million adaptation of The Great Gatsby. I have watched the trailers about a hundred times and am now on intimate acquaintance with every soaring crane shot of New York City, with that deliciously awkward pause as Joel Edgerton says, “What kind of a row? Are you trying to cause in my house?” (is this how Baz thinks the American upper classes speak? with awkward pauses?), and with every thudding beat of the purposely anachronistic Beyoncé, Lana Del Rey, Kanye West soundtrack – none of whose music I can stand in real life, by the way.

To read the rest of this blog, click on the picture below to be transported magically to the Telegraph‘s website.

gatsby01

Leave a Reply

